Library Research Schedule
Monday 4/11 (day 9) – B Weddle Tuesday 4/12 (day 10) – B,D,H Weddle Wednesday 4/13 (day 11) – D,H Weddle and E Lindsay Thursday 4/14 (day 12) – A,H Lindsay Friday 4/15 (day 13) – A,E Lindsay Monday 4/18 (day 14) – H Lindsay
Information Literacy Skills
Being able to develop a topic. This includes the ability to broaden and narrow a topic.
Knowing how to identify potential sources. Understanding the different types of information sources (encyclopedias, databases, etc.) and the various finding tools (table of contents, indexes, online catalog, basic and advanced search).
Understand how to modify your search strategy to improve the quality of results. This includes understanding how to use Boolean operators.
Being able to determine the credibility (authority, currency, accuracy) of your information sources. Having the ability to recognize bias. This includes knowing the difference between fact and opinion.
Understand the concept of intellectual property (especially copyright, fair use, and plagiarism). This includes knowledge of the concept of intellectual freedom. In addition, you should understand how to create bibliographies and parenthetical citations using MLA style.
Project Requirements
Historical Context: During the Presidency of Andrew Jackson, the Indian Removal Act was passed in 1830. This act stated that Native Americans could be removed from their territory and placed in a reservation, special land set aside for the Native Americans. In resistance to this act, many Native Americans fought for their land.
Goal: You will choose a Native American battle to study. You must consider the importance of this battle to American history. You need to think about what you would like the battle to show future generations about this past event. Also, consider what you would like to teach them about human interaction and how to guide their decisions for the future. In addition, it will be important for you to consider the tribes’ cultures and their decisions to resist.
Task: You will create a display that gives background information regarding the tribe and the battle. You will also design and explain a monument or memorial commemorating the event. You will write a proposal to turn in with your design. The proposal will explain the specific design choices that you made. You will receive specific instructions for each section of the project. On your own, you will:
1. Conduct research on the battle you have chosen or were assigned. Your research will include information about your tribe’s culture and changes (or challenges) they faced during American expansion and details regarding the battle. (You will be provided with worksheets to guide your research.)
2. Write a proposal for creating a monument in a specific location. Your proposal must describe the monument, how the public will interact with the monument, the symbolism included in the monument and why this event needs to memorialized for future generations (i.e. its significance in American history).
3. Create a display using a tri-fold display board (available at the bookstore or places like Target, Office Depot or Staples). The display will show/describe different aspects of your tribe’s culture, information regarding the battle, a sketch or model of your monument and a description of the symbolism of the monument including where it will be located.
Possible Assignments:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Preliminary Assignments and Due Dates: (dates might change according to block schedule)
April 11-18, 2011 : Library Research (two days for each class)
April 20, 2011: Works Cited due (25 points)
April 26, 2011: Detailed Research Notes due (25 points)
May 13, 2011: Final Project DUE!! (See rubrics for total point values)

Loading...
