Library Research Schedule
Project Requirements
National History Day Competition 2011-12
Mr. Estes & Mrs. Lindsay
Welcome to National History Day!
What is the National History Day Contest, you ask? Each year more than half a million students just like you participate. You will choose a historical topic related to the annual theme, and then conduct primary and secondary research. You will look through libraries, archives and museums, conduct oral history interviews, and visit historic sites. After you have analyzed and interpreted your sources, and have drawn a conclusion about the significance of your topic, you will then be able to present your work in one of four ways: as an exhibit, a performance, a documentary, or a web site.
In the spring, you may enter your work into local NHD contests where it will be judged by professional educators and historians. If your work is chosen as one of the best, you will move on to your state's NHD contest. As a winner at your state NHD contest, you will be eligible to attend the Kenneth E. Behring National History Day Contest at the University of Maryland at College Park in June. This is where the best National History Day projects from across the United States, American Samoa, Guam, International Schools and Department of Defense Schools in Europe all meet and compete.
1. You must choose from one of the following types of project: documentary, exhibit, performance or website.
2. You may work alone or in a group of two or three.
3. Every project will include a process paper.
4. You will have three classes for research and then the rest must be completed on your own time.
Project Timeline
9/6 Topic choices must be turned in
9/12 – 9/16 In class research
9/23 Annotated Bibliography (minimum of 6 sources) in Noodlebib due (25 points)
10/13 Process paper due (40 points)
11/10 Final Project due (75 points)
These projects will be judged in our own Berkeley History Day Competition and the top three in each category will then move on to the county level. The next few pages include the description for the Process Paper and the various choices for your project. For additional information you may visit the History Day website at www.nationalhistoryday.org
Process Paper
A process paper is a description of no more than 500 words explaining how you conducted your research and created and developed your entry. You must conclude your description with an explanation of the relationship of your topic to the contest theme.
A title page is required as the first page of written material in every category. Your title page must include only the title of your entry, your name(s) and the contest division and category in which you are entered. Do not include your age, grade or school name.
The first section should explain how you chose your topic.
The second section should explain how you conducted your research.
The third section should explain how you selected your presentation category and created your project.
The fourth section should explain how your project relates to the NHD theme.
How to Create a Historical Documentary
What is a Historical Documentary?
NHD documentaries present information about an event, person, place or idea from the past through a ten minute presentation that showcases documents, images, photographs, and actual footage of the topic you are researching. Your documentary needs to have both primary and secondary research but also be an original production.
How is a Documentary Different from Other Categories?
Creating a documentary is different from other categories because of the technology necessary. Before deciding to create a documentary, you should ask yourself the following questions:
- Am I interested in using computers, cameras, and other technologies?
- Can I conduct and record interviews (for the purpose of including film clips in the documentary)?
- Can I find film clips to use in my documentary?
- Are there enough still photographs related to my topic and that I can use in my documentary?
- Do I have access to equipment that will be needed to make a documentary?
- Is creating a documentary the best way to show off my topic?
Getting Started
- Create a Documentary Notebook to write down all of your ideas and keep your research organized. Watch historical documentaries and write a list of what you think makes a great historical documentary
- Make sure you have access to
-a computer
-a video camera
-editing software
-supplies: batteries, blank DVDs or videotapes, paper, pens, props - Research the topic first. One way to choose your topic is to select a commonly known story and then find a different angle that brings something new to it. Remember that there are many unknown stories that also should be told. Regardless of the topic you select, choose one that truly interests you, and remember to put it into historical context.
- Keep a database. It is important that you have a database where you keep track of all of the information you are gathering. A database is simply any place where you can collect and easily access your sources and production materials.
- Create a Timeline. Before you jump into your project, it is a good idea to create a preliminary timeline of when you want to finish important steps along the way, especially the start and end dates of pre-production, research, production, and post-production.
- Create a budget. On the practical side, you need to have a sense of the costs of doing this project. Remember you don't have to break the bank to make a film. Spending more money does not make a film better in quality.
How to Create a Historical Exhibit
What is a Historical Exhibit?
Historical exhibition presents information about an event, person, place, or idea from the past by physically displaying documents, images, or objects. We often see such exhibits at museums, but they are also presented at many other places such as archives, historic sites, park visitor centers, classrooms, and even airports and train stations. For your National History Day project, you will tell the story of your research through historic photographs, maps, drawings and other interesting objects.
How is an Exhibit Different from Other Categories?
The exhibit category is three dimensional and is displayed on a physical structure. Exhibits use color, images, documents, objects, graphics, and design, as well as words, to tell your story. Exhibits can be interactive experiences by asking viewers to play music, solve a puzzle, look at a video, or open a door or window to see more documents or photos.
Getting Started
- Brainstorm topics that are of interest to you and are related to this year's NHD theme.
- Research the topic first. Do your secondary research first. Reading secondary resources will help you understand your subject more completely, point you to primary sources, and assist you in selecting the important themes you want to investigate and the key questions you want to ask.
- Select items to put on the exhibit. You won't be able to use all the materials you find while doing your research. As you think about what to put on the exhibit, ask yourself the following questions:
- Does the item fit in with the NHD theme and the theme of your exhibit?
-Does the item advance the story you are trying to tell?
-Is a document you are thinking of displaying too long or too wordy? Is it easy to read and understand? Will it take up too much space in your exhibit?
-Is the item visually interesting?
-What images best tell your story?
-Do you want to include artifacts in your exhibit?
-Will your exhibit contain audiovisual materials? - Prepare the script. Writing your titles, text, and labels is often referred to as writing the script. Like all good writing, your exhibit script needs to be grammatically correct, use good sentence structure, make wise word choices, and contain no spelling errors. You should expect to write several drafts. Exhibit labels are brief, so they need to be clear and concise
How to Create a Historical Performance
What is a Historical Performance?
A performance is a live, dramatic presentation of your topic's significance in history. You may perform individually or as part of a group. A performance should be a scripted portrayal based on research of your chosen topic. Your script should be structured on a thesis statement, supporting statements, and a conclusion. Your performance should have dramatic appeal, but not at the expense of historical information.
How is a Performance Different from Other Categories?
The performance category is the only one that is presented live. Developing a strong narrative that allows your subject to unfold in a dramatic and visually interesting way is important. Memorizing, rehearsing, and refining your script is essential, so you should schedule time for this in addition to research, writing, costuming and prop gathering.
Getting Started
- Decide whether the chosen topic will be most effective as a group or as an individual performance.
- Research the topic first. Write down important facts or quotes that may be important to the performance. Write a thesis statement, supporting statements and a conclusion. Think about how these might become part of your performance.
- Prepare a script. Brainstorm with general ideas and how they might be presented. If a group is performing, each member should describe different ways in which characters might interact.
-Make sure your script contains references to the historical evidence found in your research.
-Using actual dialogue, quotations, or brief excerpts from speeches are good ways to put historical detail into your performance.
-Remember that your script should center on the thesis statement, supporting statements, and the conclusion that you developed from your research. - Prepare the set. Think about different types of sets that might help depict your topic. Is there a prop that is central to the story?
- Prepare the blocking. To "block" a performance is to determine where the actors will stand, move, and/or relate to the set. You should think about these movements when deciding what type of set to design.
- Prepare the costuming. Good costumes help make a performer convincing, but make sure they are appropriate to the topic. You do not need to purchase or make an elaborate costume - sometimes simple works best (e.g. white shirt and dark pants/skirt can fit almost any time period).
- Practice, practice, practice! Work on speaking clearly, pronouncing all words correctly, and projecting your voice so that the judges and the audience can hear every word. Rehearse with the set and full costumes as often as possible.
How to Create a Historical Web Site
INFORMATION ON THE WEB SITE ENTRY SUBMISSION PROCESS FOR THE 2009-2010 CONTEST - CONTAINS DETAILS NOT INCLUDED IN THE CATEGORY RULES
What is a Historical Web Site?
A historical web site is a collection of web pages, interconnected with hyperlinks, that presents primary and secondary sources, interactive multimedia, and historical analysis. Your web site should be an accumulation of research and argument that incorporates textual and non-textual (photographs, maps, music, etc.) description, interpretation, and multimedia sources to engage and inform viewers about your chosen historical topic.
How is a Web Site Different from Other Categories?
Web sites can display materials online, your own historical analysis as well as primary and secondary sources. These can be photographs, maps, documents, or audio and video files. Web sites are interactive experiences where viewers can play music, solve a puzzle, or look at a video or click on different links. Viewers can move through the web site in various undirected ways. Web sites use color, images, fonts, documents, objects, graphics and design, as well as words, to tell your story.
Getting Started
- Decide whether you want to create your web site as part of a group or on your own.
- Research your topic first. Examine secondary and primary sources. From this research, create your thesis. This will be the point that you want to make with your historical web site.
- Narrow in on the content of your web site. Decide what information you want to incorporate in your web pages, including any photos, primary documents, or media clips you may have found. You should be sure to have plenty of supporting information for your thesis.
- Organize and Design
-Keep It Simple: don't waste too much time on bells and whistles. Tell your story and tell it straight.
-Borrow Ideas from Other Web Sites: find design elements that work and imitate them on your web site. Just remember to give credit where credit is due.
-Make sure every element of your design points back to your topic, thesis, and/or time period. There should be a conscious reason for every choice you make about color, typeface, or graphics.
Paper Requirements
Topics: You will use your NHD topic and narrow it down.
Point Value: 55 points—research and preparation assignments
100 points—paper
Requirements:
- Proper MLA format
- Title
- Page Numbers
- Thesis statement that contains your central argument.
The thesis statement tells the reader what you will prove in your essay.
- Length: 5 pages
- Visual: A computer generated visual. This page is separate from the 5 page written requirement, and must be referenced in the text of the essay. Examples: cartoon, map, chart, graph.
- Sources: A minimum of three sources are required. Two sources must be from non-encyclopedia, printed material. Textbooks and WikiPedia may not be used as sources.
- Quotes: A minimum of two (2) direct quotes should be used. Please limit to three or four short quotes.
- In-text citation: A minimum of eight (8) parenthetical citations are required. (Buckley 125)
- Works Cited Page: MLA standards
Preliminary Assignments and Due Dates: (dates might change according to block schedule)
January 30, 2012: Revised Annotated Bibliography (10 points)
February 9, 2012: Note Cards (20 points)
February 16, 2012: Detailed Research Outline (25 points)
February 23, 2012: Rough Draft (optional/not graded) Papers will not be accepted after this date.
March 14, 2010: Paper Due (THIS DATE IS FINAL! Your paper is due this day even if you do not have class. It MUST be printed!)
Note: With the exception of the library research days, this is an outside research assignment.
Writing Center: Students who use the writing center will receive 5 extra points. You must visit the writing center by March 1, 2012 to receive the extra points.




Loading...
