AfghanistanArgentinaAustraliaBelarusBurkina FasoCambodiaCanadaCubaEgyptFranceGabonGreeceGuatamalaGuineaHungaryIndiaIndonesiaIran (Islamic Republic of Iran)IraqIsraelItalyKazakhstanKorea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea DPRK)Korea (Republic of Korea RoK - South Korea)KuwaitLatviaLao People's Democratic Republic (Laos)Lebanese RepublicFiji
Johns Hopkins MUN Rules of Parlimentary Procedure
GatorMUN Rules of ProcedureEffective Caucusing
MadagascarMaltaMexicoMoroccoNetherlands (Kingdom of the Netherlands)NigeriaNorwayPakistanParaguayPhilippines (Republic of the Philippines)PolandRomaniaRussiaSeychellesSierra LeoneSlovakiaSouth AfricaSudanSwedenThailandTurkeyTurkmenistanVietnamUSAYemenUnited KingdomVenezuela
This is the "Home" page of the "Model United Nations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Model United Nations  

Research Guide for MUN (Model United Nations). Use this guide to find country information, government links, United Nations links and database info as well as links to MUN tournaments.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.berkeleyprep.org/mun Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Where do I start?

New to MUN?

  1. First, you will be assigned to a country, then a committee or just a committee (such as Thrones of Olympus or Jedi Council). 
  2. Once you have your assignment, then you can begin your research. 
  3. You are a representative of whatever country you are assigned.  So BE that country.  Find out THEIR point of view, not the US point of view.
  4. Plan on meeting with Mrs. McLean to help you get started if you have never been to an MUN tournament before. 
  5. Next, you might want to visit this UN site to find out what the Un recommends you do: Research Overview: Model UN Preparation Overview

I've been to a tournament before!

  • Just go through the links in this guide and consult your MUN sponsors (Mr. Torkilsen or Mrs. McLean) for help as needed.

Agenda for 2013/2014 MUN Meetings

 

Sept. 30, 2013

We will 

  • Go over research techniques
  • Discuss the paper template
  • Talk about how to write resolutions

Week of Oct. 7th NO MONDAY MEETING

Oct. 10, 2013 (THIS IS A THURSDAY AFTERSCHOOL!!!) IN ROOM 250

Practice MUN session. 

  • Practice speaking in front of a group
  • Practice writing quick resolutions

Oct. 11, 2013    Papers Due to Vikram and Kelley

If you missed the Oct. 10th session, it will be repeated on Oct. 15th BEFORE SCHOOL AT 7:15 IN THE LIBRARY

Practice MUN session. 

  • Practice speaking in front of a group
  • Practice writing quick resolutions

Oct. 17, 2013 (THIS IS A THURSDAY AFTERSCHOOL!!!) IN ROOM 250

Practice MUN SIMULATION

Oct. 19/20 KNIGHTMUN

 

Nov. 7-10 VUMUN (Vanderbilt tournament for veterans)

 

Jan. 31-Feb. 2, 2014 GatorMUN

      

    For Beginner's: UN Associations Preparation Guide

    Model UN Preparation Guide from http://www.unausa.org/munpreparation

    Research Overview
    The first step to Model UN preparation is research. This section poses helpful research questions and points you to the best rescources for gathering information on your country and its positions, the topics to be discussed at the conference, and the UN system.

    Country Assignments
    Shortly after you register for any Model UN Conference, your delegation will receive its country assignments. Learn how to effectively assign countries among your Model UN team.

    Position Papers
    Position papers allow you to explain your country's position on an issue and start to provide ideas on how the committe should address the issue. This section explains how to write a position paper and provides some helpful tips and even a sample to help you write an effective position paper.

    Flow of Debate
    The flow of debate is the order in which delegates at a Model UN conference give speeches, negotiate, propose resolutions and amendments, and vote. This section features a flow of debate chart that will give you a feel for how a Model UN committee works- from the first speech to the final vote!

    Public Speaking
    Public speaking is one of the most important skills that you will need as a Model UN delegate. This section will help you learn more about the various oppurtunities for speaking at a Model UN conference. The section also provides tips for public speaking to help improve your delivery and boost your confidence.

    Rules of Procedure
    The rules and procedures at a Model UN are important for keeping order so that the committee can make progress. This section explains how a committee operates and provides a chart of rules and motions to help you learn these important procedures.

    Caucusing
    Caucusing, or informal negotiation, is one of the most significant parts of a Model UN conference. Much of the problem-solving, collaboration and compromising happens in these important sessions. This section explains the different types of caucuses and provides tips for effective caucusing.

    Writing Resolutions
    In this section, you will learn about the role of sponsors and signatories in the resolution-writing process, as well as how to use preambulatory and operative clauses and the process of proposing amendments. The section also includes a sample resolution and tips for writing effective resolutions.

    Dressing for Success
    Western business attire, or international standard business attire, serves as customary dress for workplaces and for many Model UN conferences. In this section, appropriate dress is explained in detail.

        

      MUN Club Info

      MUN Club meets on Fridays at lunch in the library classroom (room 304)

      MUN Club Head Delegates:

      • Kelley Sheets
      • Vikram Nandyala

      MUN Club Sponsors:

      Basic MUN Links

      UN Statistics

      Text and links from Mira Foster's MUN Libguide from San Francisco State University.

      • Gender Info
        Gender statistics for population, families, health, education, work, and political participation
      • Social Indicators
        Child-bearing, Child and early populations, contraceptive use, education, health, housing, human settlements, income and economic activity, literacy, population, unemployment, water supply and sanitation
      • Comtrade
        International Merchandise Trade Statistics from 1962- present.
      • UN Demographic Yearbook
        World summary, population, fertility, foetal mortality, infant and maternal mortality, general mortality, nuptiality, divorces
      • UNCTAD Databases
        United Nations Conference on Trade and Development's databases: Global databank on world trade in creative products, Handbook of Statistics, Foreign Direct Investment, ICT Statistics, Millennium Indicators, Trade Analysis
      • UN Statistics Division
        Clearinghouse, portal and standards keeper for United Nations statistics.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip