This is the "Assignment Details" page of the "8th Grade - English II - Renewable Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

8th Grade - English II - Renewable Energy   Tags: energy  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.berkeleyprep.org/energy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Assignment Details Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information Literacy Skills

Being able to develop a topic. This includes the ability to broaden and narrow a topic.

Knowing how to identify potential sources. Understanding the different types of information sources (encyclopedias, databases, etc.) and the various finding tools (table of contents, indexes, online catalog, basic and advanced search).

Understand how to modify (restrict, expand) your search strategy using keywords to improve the quality of results. This includes understanding how to use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) operators.

Being able to determine the credibility (authority, currency, accuracy, and relevancy) of your information sources. Having the ability to recognize bias. This includes knowing the difference between fact and opinion.

Understand the concept of intellectual property (especially copyright, fair use, and plagiarism). This includes knowledge of the concept of intellectual freedom. In addition, you should understand how to create bibliographies and parenthetical citations using MLA style.

     

    Library Research Schedule

    Wednesday 10/26 (day 11)

    Mr. Piccone (C,A,H,E) & Mr. Johnson (D)

     

    Thursday 10/27 (day 12)

    Mr. Piccone (A,H,E) & Mr. Johnson (D,F)

     

    Friday 10/28 (day 13)

    Mr. Piccone (C) & Mr. Johnson (F)

     

    Middle School Librarian

    Profile Image
    Mr. David Schumacher
    Contact Info
    Jean Ann Cone Library
    Berkeley Preparatory School
    4811 Kelly Road * Tampa, FL * 33615
    813.885.1673 x2325
    Send Email
    My favorite books are:
    Historical Fiction and Fantasy.
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip