Future City Competition
Library Research Schedule
Friday 11/5 - F @ room 71
Monday 11/8 - E @ room 71
Tuesday 11/9 - E,F @ Library
Wednesday 11/10 - E,F @ Library
Information Literacy Skills
Being able to develop a topic. This includes the ability to broaden and narrow a topic.
Knowing how to identify potential sources. Understanding the different types of information sources (encyclopedias, databases, etc.) and the various finding tools (table of contents, indexes, online catalog, basic and advanced search).
Understand how to modify (restrict, expand) your search strategy using keywords to improve the quality of results. This includes understanding how to use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) operators.
Being able to determine the credibility (authority, currency, accuracy, and relevancy) of your information sources. Having the ability to recognize bias. This includes knowing the difference between fact and opinion.
Understand the concept of intellectual property (especially copyright, fair use, and plagiarism). This includes knowledge of the concept of intellectual freedom. In addition, you should understand how to create bibliographies using MLA style.
Getting Started
1. Search for a topic using the following websites:
- WebMD: Health Topics A to Z
- National Institute of Health A to Z
- Mayo Clinic: Diseases and Conditions
2. Decide on a Topic:
Once you have decided on your topic, you need to learn about it in a general, overview manner.
3. Read an Overview Article:
Go to a general encyclopedia to find overview information about your topic.
Future City Essay Requirements
Using what you have learned so far this semester about Chemistry, and the city design that you have created in Language Arts, your task is to research and design a health care product for the citizens of your town. This project will include multiple steps, and will be worth a total of 64 points. Use the online libguide to get started, then let your creativity flow!
Basic Requirements:
· Between 600-800 words
· Typed and double-spaced
· At least 6 quality sources, cited correctly in MLA format
· No grammar or spelling mistakes
· Organization includes all steps listed below in clear and concise language
Step 1: Explore the Problem
· Define the specific population that you are choosing to improve their quality of life (senior citizens, veterans with physical impairments, the disabled, cancer patients…etc.)
· Describe the specific medical condition or chronic disease that you are addressing
a) What symptoms, restrictions, and/or health concerns are problematic for these patients?
b) What type of care will be needed for them (daily maintenance, life-saving intervention, assistance with a disability…etc.)?
· Treatment: How will the patient be treated and is there a role that virtual monitoring can play in assisting these patients in the use of their health care product?
· What types of chemical foundations are used in the treatment of your medical condition (medications, prosthetic components, monitoring systems…etc.)?
Step 2: Develop a Solution
· Research and describe a potential solution for your patient population through the use of new technology or improvement to an existing technology.
· Describe a minimum of 2-3 potential solutions
·
· Select the solution that you think is best and describe how it works, including treatment and patient monitoring.
Checklist Due: _____________
Rough Draft Due: ___________
Final Draft Due: _______________
Research Project Checklist
ü Patient population: ___________________________________________________
ü Medical condition: ____________________________________________________
ü Key Word Search:
1. _______________________________
2. _______________________________
3. _______________________________
4. _______________________________
5. _______________________________
6. _______________________________
ü Care needed: _______________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
ü How treatment will be delivered: __________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
ü How the health care team will be informed: ___________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
|
Potential Solutions |
Pros |
Cons |
|
1. |
|
|
|
2. |
|
|
|
3. |
|
|
ü Your product: _______________________________________________________
ü Benefits of your product: _______________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
ü Role of virtual medicine: ________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
ü Role of chemistry: ____________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________
References:
|
Name of Source |
Date Published |
Publishing Organization |
Reliability |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Remember: Your product should be original, effective, and futuristic! You may also want to utilize the writing center to make sure that your thoughts are well organized, with no spelling or grammar mistakes.


Loading...
