This is the "Stem Cell Paper Info" page of the "Stem Cell Position Paper - Raterman" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stem Cell Position Paper - Raterman  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2011 URL: http://libguides.berkeleyprep.org/stemcell Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Stem Cell Paper Info Print Page
  Search: 
 

What to Do

  1. Use a general encyclopedia to get background/overview info on your topic. You cannot use a general encyclopedia as one of your sources.
  2. Build a list of keywords.  Use more than one keyword!  A database is also a great way to find keywords.
  3. Once you understand your topic and have some keywords, you can start searching.

Research Requirements

Due Date: Tuesday, Nov. 15th

Research Project: 

Guidelines

1.    Choose a side to support: Either for or against stem cell research.

2.    Research your position using the sources available through this Libguide.

3.    Make sure you paraphrase or summarize and not copy & paste information from your sources.

4.    Give credit to the sources, have a simple bibliography.

5.    Write a position paper based on your research. Have at least three supporting facts to support your position.

6.    Be ready to present your position during our debate in class.

7.    Submit your paper for a grade. Make sure it is well written: check for grammar, punctuation, complete sentences, etc.

8.    Your grade will be recorded as an assignment grade. 25 points.

 

How Many Sources Do I Need? What is required?

Minimum of 3 sources in the following categories:

  1. NO GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS
    • This includes wikipedia, worldbook, britannica, etc.
  2. You will use a diversity of sources (don't use just one database, use several, use the government websites, etc.)
  3. Books may be older.  Everything else must be 2006 or more recent. 

Works Cited 

    1. You will use Noodlebib to create your bibliography.
    2. You must share your works cited with Mrs. Raterman and Ms. Arcuri. Class names are as follows:
      • Raterman Bio A
      • Raterman Bio B
      • Raterman Bio F
      • Raterman Bio G
    3. If you have any questions about citing your sources or need help finding sources, please see Ms. Arcuri or Mrs. McLean in the library.
      

    Username/Password List

    The Berkeley online database username/password list for remote access is available using Edline. Select Cone Library - UD from the contents section. You will then see the word document containing the complete username/password list in contents. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip